Unarmed Security Guard Training
In order to become a security guard you will generally need to be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma, passed a G.E.D or equivalent. You will also need to be of good health and have a clean slate – meaning no history of drug and alcohol abuse nor should you have any prior felonies or criminal convictions. Some states also require that you complete a basic training course before you can work as a security guard.
It is however important to understand that the exact requirements vary greatly between states. Some states have very elaborate requirements and require that you have a license, while others only have the most basic requirements and don’t require you to have any special training in order to start working as a security guard.
What will a basic training course teach me?
Many states require that you pass initial or basic security guard training. A course can require anywhere from a few hours, typically 8, up to 40 hours of your time, as it does in the state of California. While the contents of the training varies depending on where you live, most courses include topics like power to arrest, customer service, first aid, fire prevention, incident response, laws and regulations, observation and security resources, surveillance and documentation.
Where do I get training and what are the requirements?
Some states do not require you to complete any training to work as a security guard, while other do require that you complete some initial training. To find out what the requirements are where you live, please select your state below.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia