In the state of Washington you must be licensed to work as a security guard. Licensing is handled by the Washington State Department of Licensing. Approval for a license requires that meet the following criteria.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- United States citizen or resident alien.
- Be employed by or have an employment offer from a licensed private security guard company.
- No disqualifying felony or criminal conviction.
- Complete pre-assignment training.
The pre-assignment training includes at least 8 hours of training within the following topics:
- Basic principals
- Legal powers and limitations
- Emergency response
- Safety and accident prevention
- Report writing
The post-assignment training includes at least 8 hours of training within the following topics:
- Basic role of private security guards
- Legal aspects of private security
- Security officer conduct
- Observation and incident reporting
- Principles of communication
- Principles of access control
- Principles of safeguarding information
- Emergency response procedures
- Life safety awareness
- Job assignment and post orders
4 hours of refresher training must be completed annually.
To apply for a license you must submit an application form to the Public Protection Services Department of Licensing. In addition you should also make sure you have:
- 1 completed fingerprint card
There is a $111 unarmed private security guard license fee.
Renewal is $85.
WSDoL: Security guards