You must be registered in order to work as a security guard in Virginia. Regulations are handled by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice and the company hiring you is responsible for submitting your application for you.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- United States citizen or resident alien
- Mentally and emotionally stable
- No dependence on drugs or alcohol
- No disqualifying felony or criminal convictions
- Successfully complete initial training requirements
Initial training course is 18 hours and includes;
- Orientation (2 hours)
- Law (4 hours)
- Security patrol, access control, and communications (2 hours)
- Documentation (4 hours)
- Emergency procedures (4 hours)
- Confrontation management (2 hours)
You are required to renew your license every 24 months.
An application form must be submitted to the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice. Before you complete the form, make sure you have the following;
- Completed registration application form.
- Completed fingerprint processing application form.
- Legal presence documentation (proof of age and citizenship)
- Completed Criminal History Supplemental form (if applicable)
- Passport style photo to be submitted to the DCJS
There is a $25 initial registration and application fee and a $50 fingerprint card fee.
Renewal is $20.
DCJS: Unarmed Security Officer