A license is required to become a Utah security guard. Licensing is handle by the Utah Unit of Occupational and Professional Licensing. In order to get a license you must meet the following criteria.
- At least 18 years of age
- United States citizen or resident alien
- Mentally and emotionally stable
- No felony or criminal convictions
- No drug or alcohol abuse
- Good moral character
- Complete a 24 hour basic training course
The 24 hour basic classroom instruction includes the following topics:
- Nature and role of private security
- Report writing
- Police and community relations
- State laws and rules
- Situational response
- Patrol techniques
- Legal responsibilities
- Use of force
- Unlawfull harassment
License must be renewed every 2 years.
In order to apply for a license you must complete the security personnel application form and submit it to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing as stated on the form. Before you submit the form make sure you have the following items.
- 2 Fingerprint card or electronic fingerprinting
- Copy of valid Utah Driver’s license
- Completed certification of 24 hours of basic classroom instruction
There is a $60 application fee, a $20 BCI fingerprinting fee and a $20 FBI fingerprint file search fee.
There is a $42 renewal fee.