Registration and a license is required to work as an unarmed security guard in Tennessee.
- At least 18 years of age
- United States citizen or resident alien
- Mentally and emotionally stable
- Good moral character
- No habitual drunkenness or drug addiction or dependence
- No disabilities preventing you from performing your duties
- No felony or criminal convictions involving firearms, shoplifting or violence
- Complete basic training
- Pass criminal background check
A basic training course is 4 hours and includes.
- Legal powers and limitations of a security guard
- Emergency procedures
- General duties
If you are to carry a club, stun gun, chemical spray, night stick or another less than lethal device, you must also receive appropriate training in each device. Training must be conducted by a certified instructor.
The license must be renewed every 2 years.
To apply for a security guard registration and license you must complete the application form and submitted it to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance Division Private Protective Services. Forms can be found at the Private Protective Services website.
Make sure you have the following before you submit the application.
- 3 sets of classifiable fingerprint cards
- 3 1″ by 1″ passport style color photographs
There is a $50 application fee and a $20 license fee.
Renewal is $50.