You must be licensed in order to work as an unarmed security guard in South Carolina. The details of the application process is handled by your employer who will forward all necessary information to the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division.
Before you can become licensed you must adhere to the following requirements.
- At least 18 years of age
- United States citizen or registered alien
- High school diploma, G.E.D. or equivalent
- Mentally and emotionally stable
- Good moral character
- Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs
- No felony or criminal convictions.
- Completed SLED approved basics training
A basic training course is at least 4 hours and may include,
- Role of private security
- Legal and ethical aspects
- Surveillance operation and documentation
- Customer service issues
- Incident response
- Security resources and addressing the public
- Emergency first aid and CPR
License must be renewed annually.
An application must be submitted to the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division by your employer. Forms, rules and regulations are available at the SLED website. Before your employer submits the application for you, make sure you have the following.
- Fingerprint card
- Proof of completed SLED approved training
There is a $65 registration fee.
License renewal is $65.