Unarmed Security Guard Training in Rhode Island

February 19, 2013

To become a security guard in the State of Rhode Island you must be licensed.

Requirements

  • At least 18 years of age
  • United States citizen or resident alien
  • Mentally and emotionally stable
  • No disqualifying felony or criminal convictions
  • No habitual drunkenness, drug addictions or dependencies
  • Good moral character

Training

While there are no state mandated training requirements. Your employer may require you to complete a basic training course. Such a course can include, but is not limited to.

  • Role of private security
  • Legal and ethical aspects
  • Surveillance operation and documentation
  • Customer service issues
  • Incident response
  • Security resources and addressing the public
  • Emergency first aid and CPR

Maintenance

The license must be renewed every 2 years.

Application Process

Applications forms are available at http://www.riag.ri.gov/forms/. The completed Security Guard Application must be submitted to the Attorney General.

Fees

There is a $400 biennial licensing fee.

Resources

Security Guard Application / Rules and Regulations

 

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }