Unarmed Security Guard Training in Oregon

February 12, 2013

In order to work as a security guard in Oregon you must be licensed and the following requirements must be met.

Requirements

  • At least 18 years of age
  • United States citizen
  • Good moral character
  • Mentally and emotionally stable
  • No disqualifying felonies
  • No habitual drug or alcohol abuse
  • Complete 12 hour basic training course

Training Course

A 12 hour certified basic training course can include.

  • Deportment, ethics and professionalism
  • Cultural dynamics
  • Notification of public authorities
  • The role of the private security officer
  • Reporting emergencies
  • Patroling
  • Citizen contacts in the field
  • Tactical communication
  • Laws that apply to the security professionals

Maintenance

Your license must be renewed every to year. Renewal includes a 4 hour refresher course.

Application Process

To apply for a license you must complete the following forms.

  • PS-1 Basic Application
  • PS-4 Fingerprint Affidavit
  • PS-20 Temporary Work Permit (if you are going to work as an unarmed guard while waiting for your official license)

You will also need the following items.

  • 1 fingerprint card

Forms can be found at http://www.oregon.gov/DPSST/Pages/ps/forms.aspx.

Fees

There is a $115 application fee.

Resources

Oregon DPSST: Getting Started
Oregon DPSST: Forms
Oregon DPSST: Inctructors

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }