You must be licensed in order to work as a security guard in Oklahoma.
- 18 years of age
- United States citizen or resident alien
- Good moral character
- Mentally and emotionally stable
- No felony convictions
- No drug or alcohol dependencies
- Completed phase 1 and 2 training and pass the Security Guard exam
The phase 1 training course is 20 hours and includes.
- Oklahoma Security Guard and Private Investigator Act
- Emergency response to accidents, fires and others
- How to prepare field notes and reports
- Legal powers and limitations of a private security guard
The phase 2 training course is 20 hours and includes.
- Public relation skills
- Patrol duties
- Fixed-post assignements
- Investigate security incidents
The license must be renewed every 3 years. 8 hours of continuing training must be completed annually.
The application process is as follows.
- Complete necessary training
- Submit application for license
- Undergo fingerprint background check
The following items are needed to complete your application
- 2 passport sized color photographs
- Legible CLEET fingerprint cards
- Local police and sheriff department record checks
- Documentation of approved training
You can find application forms and other information at http://www.ok.gov/cleet/Licensing/Security_Guards/.
There is a $91 application and fingerprinting fee.
There is a $50 renewal fee.
CLEET: Security Guard Licensing