Unarmed Security Guard Training in North Carolina

February 10, 2013

In order to work as a security guard in North Carolina you must be licensed. The following requirements must be met in order to qualify.

Requirements

  • At least 18 years of age
  • United States citizen or resident alien
  • Good moral character and temperate habits
  • No felony or misdemeanors associated with violence, drugs, theft or fraud
  • Be an employee of a private security company and be under supervision of a licensed patrol officer
  • Complete an approved training course within 30 days of employment

Training course

Approved courses include 16 hours of training on the following topics.

  • The Security Officer in North Carolina (1 hour)
  • Legal Issues for Security Officers (3 hours)
  • Emergency Response (3 hours)
  • Communications (2 hours)
  • Patrol Procedures (3 hours)
  • Note Taking and Report Writing (3 hours)
  • Deportment (1 hour)

Application Process

An application must be submitted to the Private Protective Services Board. Before you do so, make sure you have the following.

  • 2 1″ by 1″ recent passport style photos
  • 2 fingerprint cards
  • Certified copy of criminal background history for the last 48 months

Fees

There is a $30 application fee.

Resources

North Carolina General Statues
North Carolina Unarmed Security Guard Training Requirements

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }