To work as a security guard in New Mexico you must be licensed. There are 3 levels of licensing. A level 1 guard cannot carry arms. A level 2 guard can carry arms, but not firearms. These are described below. While security guards with level 3 training are considered armed guards and are described in Armed Security Guard Training in New Mexico.
- At least 18 years of age
- United States citizen
- High school diploma or equivalent (level 2 and 3)
- No felony or misdemeanors associated with violence, drugs, theft or fraud
- Complete a certified training course for the level you wish to achieve (1, 2 or 3)
The level 1 training course is 8 hours and includes.
- Legal training for security guards (4 hours)
- Authority and responsibility of the security guard (2 hours)
- Incident scene management and preservation (2 hours)
The level 2 training course requires that you have completed the level 1 course. It is 16 hours and includes.
- Legal and practical aspects of use of force and personal/employer liability (8 hours)
- Verbal and written communication and conflict management (6 hours)
- First responder basic first aid (2 hours)
- Specific weapon endorsement
In order to become a licensed security guard you must complete the Security Guard Registration application form and the fingerprint verification form found at http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Private_Investigations_Forms_and_Applications.aspx.
Before you complete the form make sure you have the follow.
- 2 recent 2″ by 2″ Passport style photos
- Certification for completing department approved training
- A copy of your high school diploma (level 2 and 3)
- Proof of age (birth certificate, driver’s license)
- RLD Release of Information form and DPS Authorization for Release of Information form.
- Completed department issued jurisprudence examination.
- Weapons certification (level 2)
- 2 completed fingerprint cards
There is a $15 fee for each level applied for and $44 fingerprinting fee.