Unarmed Security Guard Training in Michigan

July 24, 2012

It is not required that you have a license to become a security guard in the state of Michigan. Gaining employment as an unarmed security guard does have a few basic requirements though;

Requirements

  • Be a United States citizen or resident alien.
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • High school diploma or equivalent.
  • Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs.
  • No felony or criminal convictions.
  • Complete a basic security guard training.

Course description

If a basic training course is required by the hiring company may includes, but is not limited to, the following topics;

  • Role of Private Security
  • Legal Aspects
  • Patrol and Observation
  • Incident Response
  • Surveillance operation and documentation
  • Working with and addressing the public
  • First Aid

Application process

After gaining employment with a licensed private security guard company they will handle any licensing and training.

Fees

There may be a $49.25 fee in relation to fingerprint scans and background checks.

Resources

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs – Private Security Guards

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }