In order to become an unarmed security guard in Florida you must hold a class D security officer license.
- Be a United States citizen or resident alien
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs
- No felony or violent crime convictions within 10 years of application.
- Complete 40 hours security guard training before applying.
The 40 hour training course can be completed by one of the following methods;
- Successful completion of 40 hours of training before initial application
- Successful completion of 24 hours of training before initial application and successful completion of 16 hours of training within 180 days of the date the application is submitted to the Division of Licensing.
The course includes, but is not limited to;
- Florida State Statutes Section 493
- Legal Issues and Liabilities
- Basic First Aid
- Fire Suppression
- Emergency Procedures
- Crime & Accident Prevention
- Professional Communication
- Terrorism Awareness
- Ethics and Professional Conduct
- Patrol Techniques
- Observation Techniques & Report Writing
- Interview Techniques
- Other required topics
Application forms are available at the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing website, http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/FORMS/FormsRequest493.html.
Before you apply for a class D license, make sure you have the following;
- Proof of training
- Passport style photograph
- Legible set of fingerprints on a fingerprint card provided by Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
The completed form should be submitted to the Alaska Department of Public Safety.
There is a $45 license fee and a $42 Fingerprint card-processing fee.