Unarmed Security Guard Training in Delaware

July 10, 2012

Requirements

  • Must be hired by a licensed security company.
  • Be a United States citizen or resident alien.
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs.
  • No felony convictions.
  • No felony or misdemeanors involving moral turpitude, theft or drugs.
  • No conviction of assault III within 3 years of application.
  • Complete 16 hours of security guard training by a certified instructor.

Course description

The 16 hour training course includes, but is not limited to;

  • Legal requirements and limitations
  • Use of force
  • Ethics
  • Emergency services
  • Diversity
  • Communication
  • Asset protection
  • Terrorism

Application process

Application forms are available at the Delaware State Police website.

Before you apply for a license, make sure you have the following;

  • Fingerprints taken at an approved location
  • Picture I.D.
  • Private Security Training Certification Form

The completed form should be submitted to the Kent County (walk-in) or New Castle County (appointment only).

Fees

There is a $69 application fee and an additional $20 fee for the required I.D. card.

Resources

Delaware State Police
Delaware State Police Bureau of Identification
Delaware code title 24, chapter 13

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }