Security guards in Connecticut must obtain a Security Officer Certification Identification Card.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Good moral character.
- No felony or criminal convictions including sexual offenses and crimes involving moral turpitude.
- Complete 8 hours of pre-assigned security guard training.
The 8 hour training course includes, but is not limited to;
- Basic first aid
- Search and seizure laws and regulations
- Use of force
- Basic criminal justice
- Public safety issues
The license must be renewed every 2 years.
The employer is responsible for handling registration and licensing. They will have all necessary forms.
You will however need the following;
- 2 sets of fingerprints.
- 2 full face photos (2” x 2”).
- Certification of completed basic training course.
The completed forms will be submitted to Special License and Firearms unit by the employer.
There is a $100 fee for obtaining the security officer certification identification card. Additionally there is $50 and a $19.25 fingerprint fee payable to the state and the FBI.
There is a $100 license renewal fee.
Connecticut Chapter 534 Sec 29-152u through 29-161aa
Connecticut State Police, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit – Private Security Companies