- Be a United States citizen or resident alien
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs
- No felony or criminal convictions within 10 years of application.
- Emotionally and mentally stable
- Complete 8 hours of pre-assigned security guard training. After this application form can be completed.
- Complete 40 hours of in-service training within 180 days of employment
The 40 hour in-service training course includes, but is not limited to;
- Law of arrest
- Law of search and seizure
- Duties and responsibilities to the employer and client
- Fire prevention
- First aid
- Patrol techniques
An 8 hour refresher course must be completed yearly. The course includes the topics mentioned above. Failure to pass the course can be grounds for removal and dismissal of the security guard license.
Application forms are available at the Alaska Department of Public Safety website, http://www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/PermitsLicensing/securityguard.aspx.
Before you apply for a personal license, make sure you have the following;
- Proof of insurance.
- A recent photograph taken from the waist up.
- 2 sets of classifiable fingerprints.
- Alaska Driver’s license/State I.D.
The completed form should be submitted to the Alaska Department of Public Safety.
There is a $50 non-refundable license application fee and a $51.50 fingerprint fee. A license is valid for two years and there is a $50 biannual renewal fee.