Armed Security Guard Training in West Virginia

March 28, 2013

A license is required to work as an armed security guard in West Virginia if you want to work as a sole proprietor, providing security guard services under your own name. Your are exempt from licensing if you are;

  • employed exclusively and regularly by only one employer in connection with that employer’s affairs
  • employed by one or more licensed security guard firms

Licensing is handled by the West Virginia Secretary of State. In addition to the requirements for working as an unarmed security guard in West Virginia you must also meet the following criteria.


  • Be at least 21 years of age.
  • Complete firearms training as set forth by West Virginia Code Chapter 61, article 61-7.


Training can be done by completing:

  • Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course.
  • Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public institution or organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors duly certified by the institution.
  • Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as such by the state or by the National Rifle Association.
  • Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States Military, Reserve or National Guard.


The license must be renewed annually.

Application process

The application process is similar to that of an unarmed security guard, except you should also make sure you have the following on hand:

  • Proof of completed firearms training


There is a $150 licensing fee for West Virginia residents and a $550 licensing fee for non-West Virginia residents. $50 of this fee is non-refundable in case your application is denied. There is a $75 firearms certification fee.


Unarmed Security Guard Training in West Virginia
WVSOS: homepage
WVSOS: Security Guard Licensing
WVSOS: Eligibility & Requirements
WVL: Chapter 61, article 61-7

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }