Armed Security Guard Training in Oregon

February 12, 2013

In addition to the requirements for working as an unarmed security guard in Oregon. You must also adhere to the following requirements.

Requirements

  • At least 21 years of age
  • Complete 24 hours of basic armed training

Training Course

A 24 hour certified basic armed training course can include.

  • Sound judgment and preparedness
  • Use of force
  • Ammunition
  • Nomenclature and inspection
  • Care and cleaning
  • Marksmanship
  • Loading and unloading
  • Firearm safety
  • Tactical safety
  • Laws and liabilities in regards to firearms
  • Range training

Maintenance

Your license must be renewed every to year. Renewal includes a 4 hour refresher course and a 4 hour armed refresher course.

Application Process

The application process is similar to that of an unarmed security guard, except you will also need the following.

  • Proof of completed basic firearms training by an approved instructor.

Fees

There is a $115 application fee.

Resources

Unarmed Security Guard Training in Oregon
Oregon DPSST: Getting Started
Oregon DPSST: Forms
Oregon DPSST: Inctructors

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }