Armed Security Guard Training in Nebraska

July 24, 2012

No license is required to work as an armed security guard in Nebraska. The counties do however have requirements in regards to carrying a firearm.

Requirements

In addition to the requirements for working as a security guard in Nebraska. Getting a license to work as an armed security guard includes the following requirements.

  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Valid social security card
  • Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs
  • Nebraska state driver’s license
  • Mentally and emotionally stable
  • License to carry firearms

Course description

A basic firearms training course required to get a license to carry firearms includes, but is not limited to;

  • Knowledge of ways to avoid a criminal attack and to defuse or control a violent confrontation.
  • Knowledge of safe handling of a handgun.
  • Knowledge and safe handling of handgun ammunition.
  • Knowledge of proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition, including storage practices which would reduce the possibility of accidental injury to a child .
  • Safe handgun shooting fundamentals.
  • Knowledge of federal, state, and local laws pertaining to the purchase, ownership, transportation, and possession of handguns .
  • Knowledge of federal, state, and local laws pertaining to the use of a handgun, including, but not limited to, use of a handgun for self-defense and laws relating to justifiable homicide and the various degrees of assault .
  • Complete practical exercises including, but not limited to; drawing and firing drills, precision shooting drills and decision making drills.
  • Demonstrate shooting competency.

Maintenance

The concealed carry license, if needed, must be renewed every 5 years to maintain the ability to work as an armed security guard.

Application process

Before you apply for a concealed carry license you should make sure you have the following;

  • Concealed weapon permit.
  • Proof of completed firearms training course by a certified instructor.
  • Nebraska state driver’s license
  • Recent passport style photograph
  • Fingerprints (either taken at the application site or by providing 2 legible fingerprint cards)

The completed forms should be submitted to the Criminal Identification Office or any Troop Area headquarters outside of Lincoln.

Fees

There is a $100 fee for a concealed carry permit.

Renewal is $50.

Resources

Unarmed Security Guard Training in Nebraska
Nebraska State Patrol Concealed Carry

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }