Armed Security Guard Training in Mississippi

July 24, 2012

A license is not required to work as an armed security guard in Mississippi. The county or city may however have some basic requirements in regards to carrying a firearm;


  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • United States citizen or registered resident alien
  • Mississippi state driver’s license
  • Mentally and emotionally stable
  • Not addicted to or dependent on alcohol or drugs
  • Basic security guard training
  • Security guard gun permit

Course description

If basic training is required by the hiring company it may include, but is not limited to, topics such as;

  • Role of Private Security
  • Legal Aspects
  • Patrol and Observation
  • Incident Response
  • Surveillance operation and documentation
  • Working with and addressing the public
  • First Aid

Application process

For exact requirements where you live contact the local City Clerk’s office, county, police department and the company. General requirement include;

  • Security guard gun permit
  • Proof of completed firearms training course with a certified instructor
  • Recent photograph
  • Completed Domestic Violence Rider and Authority to Release Information form
  • 1 completed fingerprint card


There is a $100 application fee for first time security guards and a $32 fingerprint processing fee.

Renewal is $50 and a $32 fingerprint processing fee.


Unarmed Security Guard Training in Mississippi
Mississippi Security Guard Firearm Permit

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }